Obamacare Is Here

These images and write ups really bring tears to my eyes and make me so happy. I am so glad to see people are being helped and I am baffled beyond belief that anyone, politician or just ordinary citizen, would oppose the Affordable Care Act (ACA) and think it is ok to let people get or remain sick and then die because they cannot afford paying for health care –  to the point of threatening economic and social harm to extract concessions from the President without needing to make any policy concessions in return. It is absolutely unfathomable to me how someone can call themselves a human being and hold such a sentiment. 

I understand that the Affordable Care Act is not perfect, that it is not what a lot of us progressives wanted, namely a single-payer system whereby the government pays for all health care costs or even a public option, whereby government-run health insurance agency competes with other health insurance companies, but this is a start and a lot of people who before were not eligible to receive coverage and were turned down or could not afford it, are now finally getting the help and relief they need.

Thank you Mr. President. Your mother who died of cancer and was struggling until her last breath with insurance companies would have been proud.

6875881660_aa2ec30152 6875882142_e75ccb2429 o-I-AM-OBAMACARE-570 (1) o-I-AM-OBAMACARE-570 (2) o-I-AM-OBAMACARE-570 (3) o-I-AM-OBAMACARE-570 (4) o-I-AM-OBAMACARE-570 Wqcw4Sw

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by shelldigger on October 7, 2013 - 4:36 AM

    The R’s imploded when Obama was elected (and then re-elected ha!), they will go black hole if Hilary is our next president. First a black man…then a woman?!! I look forward to the day the R’s become obsolete. All I see them represent these days is hypocrisy, bigotry, and the T tards.

  2. #2 by myatheistlife on October 6, 2013 - 10:56 AM

    Reblogged this on myatheistlife and commented:
    Hey republicans. I want to see you look these people in the eyes and sell them on your rethoric about Obamacare. I hope that you have enjoyed your political career. I don’t think yours will last much longer.

    • #3 by popreflection on October 6, 2013 - 12:23 PM

      I hope you are right. I hope with the latest government shutdown and also debt ceiling disasters, this was the last we saw of them for a while.

      What gets me is that nearly all of these Republicans are hard-core Christians. Boehner himself is a catholic. True, they are like the Christian Taliban but they are still religious and (supposedly) god loving and fearing, yet they seem to have no problem and no compunction, denying millions of people access to healthcare. How Christ like is that? I think it was Matthew 25:40 where Jesus says “whatever you do for the least of my brethren, you do unto me”. Amazing how little religious people understand the very bullshit book they pray to. Or maybe they do and are just willfully ignorant and I am not sure which is worse.

      • #4 by myatheistlife on October 6, 2013 - 2:10 PM

        I agree with what you have said and it is maddeningly stupid that ‘religious’ people should be so caustic to society. It simply proves that belief does not make you good. It doesn’t give you common sense or morality. All it does is give you an excuse that the believer thinks trumps all objections. Well, it doesn’t. I truly hope to see the republican party punished and President Hilary at the helm to watch it.

Reply

