But I Have This Book…

I have this book

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by patricktroy on July 30, 2014 - 9:14 AM

    the origin of species talks about evolution well the bible talks about creation, two compleatly different stories

    • #2 by popreflection on July 30, 2014 - 9:27 AM

      LOL. Yes, only an ignorant person believing in an invisible sky man would engage in this piece of sophistry and quibble over semantics to make the point.

      • #3 by patricktroy on July 30, 2014 - 9:40 AM

        I do not know why you feel I am trying to be diseptive. it is like comparing a book on how to build a car and a book on how cars have canged over time. does my comment scare you so much that you felt the need to resort to this. I know people like the religious one in the photo I think they are idiots to. So please tell me how I am ignorant or how I am trying to be deceptive.

        • #4 by popreflection on July 30, 2014 - 3:21 PM

          You are using a fallacious argument to somehow make the point that the Bible and the creationism it supports is totally compatible with evolution and that they answer different questions, when they do not. Evolution and the big bang are about the origins of the Earth, of humanity, and of life itself, just as much as the Bible claims to be – they don’t just describe a process but the process they describe is fundamentally incompatible with creationism which disputes the evidence of common descent of humans and other animals as demonstrated in modern paleontology, genetics, histology and cladistics and those other sub-disciplines which are based upon the conclusions of modern evolutionary biology, geology, cosmology, and other related fields. God took a man’s rib and made a woman out of it is not compatible with evolution; neither is Noah’s arc or any of the other grade school level fairy tale things as stipulated in the bible (and don’t tell me it is allegory).

          So the point I am trying to make is that evolution and creationism are not two separate debate from one another, especially with respect to how this earth was created. The Bible stresses humanity’s divinely imbued soul; in fact it views and presents humanity as the center of existence – it states that we are special, were specially created by a god, a designer, and that we occupy a special, privilege position in the universe. Evolution does not make that claim, not because it does not attempt to, but because things like natural selection and common ancestry are not compatible with creation myths that place humans at the center of it all. In other words, if you believe in a god that specially created you and this universe and earth for you, if you believe that a virgin gave birth to the son of god who died for your sins and then is coming back etc. – that is fundamentally incompatible with the tenets of evolution. Evolution does not just describe a mechanism. Evolution is about mechanism as well as about the origins of life (what you call creation). However, evolution does not say that there is purpose behind it, a creator – or even why. Because there is none. Just that religious people like there to be one, they cannot imagine there isn’t one, so you just insert god in there.

          • #5 by patricktroy on July 31, 2014 - 8:40 AM

            ok well thanks for the essay. First off although you asked me not to say it alot of the bible needs to be read between the lines as it was written very long ago. this is especially true for the stories of creation. I studied biology in university and evolution involves progress not a start point. I am sorry to tell you but that is its definition. also I am not a creationist. not at all. I belive in evolution, and I am religious. Most religious people are like me. I own a copy of the origin of species, I have read it for school and pleasure and I must have the wrong coppy because it talks about after our starting point. It has nothing to do with the big bang, which I and most religious people belive in. also evolution is strictly biology so the creation of our earth and the universe is not part of that. Also I am confused are you attacking religious people in general or just Christianity? anyway just so you do not look so bad latter here is the definition of evolution.

            “the process by which different kinds of living organisms are thought to have developed and diversified from earlier forms during the history of the earth.”

            Hope this helps and do not feel bad I know you are going to sceam through your keyboard at me.

        • #6 by popreflection on July 31, 2014 - 9:04 AM

          Wow, that sure was a whole lot of nothing crammed together in one tight column. And yes yes, that the Bible is allegory (when the shoe fits, huh?) is quite a familiar retort. It is literal when you want it to be, and allegorical when it just does not fit reality, huh? And long essay huh. Well, I am sorry explaining things to ignorant people takes time and space. You wanted an answer, I gave it to you.

          If there is one thing I have learned when “debating” with people who believe in an invisible sky daddy is that when science, reason facts and logic don’t work, it is best to walk away as another 5 or 500 more won’t make a shred of a difference to someone who worships an invisible man. Now run along…

      • #7 by patricktroy on July 31, 2014 - 9:15 AM

        Talking about evolution is nothing to you? Again you never answerd me what makes me ignorant? i would like to know. In my last comment I used nothing but reason and facts. all you just used was mudslinging. The bible is translated as is and then you need to seperate the cultural from the true message. this is done with all kinds of aincent translation that we use to peice together all the ancent history that we know. you are right it is “debating” because you just desire to scream your opinions. I am sorry but that is not a discussion.

        • #8 by popreflection on July 31, 2014 - 9:26 AM

          Patrick, interesting you mention “mudslinging”. I believe it was you who made the snarky “thanks for the essay” and “I am sure you will scream at your key board” remarks. I am not interested in engaging in thoughtful debate with entities that troll and resort to this kind of “technique”. So, as I said, run along. Pip pip.

          • #9 by patricktroy on July 31, 2014 - 9:32 AM

            If I quoted yours I would need an essay. The essay thing was not ment that way and I appoligise for the keyboard thing. will I get an appoligy from you? still one thing how am I ignorant. Not your general assumption of religious people. I want to know why you think I am. Please do not avoid the real issues

Reply

